Episode Six

Interestingly, this has been the hardest post to write so far. I feel like I must have gone over it in my head a hundred times in the last couple of weeks and even still feel that I haven’t got it on lock.

There have been numerous changes in the last month and although I’m not one for New Year’s Resolutions I do typically assess where I’m at on my return to work and what I want to set myself to achieve. This is usually personal rather than professional and if I’m being honest, I half ass it most of the time anyway.

A recurring thought lately has been that like most people, I want to achieve more but I’m just lazy. So often we set goals about getting fitter, or learning a new skill but it is all about the shortcut. I’m incredibly guilty of this- I’ll happily waste hours, days, weeks ‘researching’ on the internet when the answer is always the same- work harder, put the time in. I don’t subscribe to the idea of inbuilt talent, or the ten thousand hour theory, but so often lately the answer to the questions I’ve been asking is simply put the time in.

Want to learn how to draw? Draw more.

Improve your balance on a skateboard? Skate.

Get fitter? Consistent work. 

I’m not an athlete, I’m not an artist and I sure as shit won’t ever be a pro skater so I need to dumb this all down. All the combined knowledge of the internet and all the ‘life hacks’ won’t mean a thing if I don’t actually try getting things done and spend all day sitting on my arse reading about other people achieving the things I want to.

So here are the goals for 2016- be fitter and injury free by my birthday while getting back down close to fighting weight. I’ll do this by following the Program Minimum. I will fill four sketchbooks this year and keep drawing daily while trying to absorb as much as I can from books. I will sort out the interior in my car. I haven’t written about my car yet on this blog but it is a massive part of the whole thing. I actually want to progress it a little quicker this year.

And I’m not going to mention skating because some things should just be for fun. I don’t want to choke the life out of it by worrying about getting better or hitting milestones.

M

Leave a Reply

