Episode Five

Well I guess you could call it a missed opportunity but I am going to refrain.

In late November I picked up an anatomy book that focused on Bridgman’s ideas. My plan was to spend some time each day with it and by the end of my leave period have built a decent foundation. Of course, that didn’t happen.

What did happen was a move from Sydney to Townsville and even as I type this I’m still in temporary accommodation. Christmas was spent on the road and my ute has copped a hammering that only a family of five can dish out. It must be bad when even my wife is thinking of letting a pro detailer deal with it.

I did finally- after years of thinking about it, deliberating and always shying away- buy a skateboard. Thanks to the awesome advice from the dude at Cre8tive Sk8 I ended up with a Land Yacht Tugboat and I’ve actually been using it. Even that is probably underselling it- I’ve been having more fun that I ever expected. Sure, I sometimes feel like a dick with Peter Pan syndrome but I’m having fun so fuck it.

To be honest, that is probably where I’ve always gone wrong. As much as I’d deny it, worrying about how everyone else sees things, over thinking everything I do, has always been a weakness of mine.  I like to think that this is the first step in freeing myself up. Maybe I’m more worried about landing on my face than if people are looking but either way…

The same is true in my drawing. I read a book about Peter Brock  before Christmas and one chapter concerned his art. I never knew anything about this previously. One thing that jumped out was his statement about enjoying Aboriginal art because of a less rigid style. It made me think about my own approach.

I think I made a bit of a mistake going from Drawing on the Right Side straight in to Keys to Drawing. I couldn’t remember the last time I tried to draw something without the goal being to get better. Honestly, I think back to early high school, drawing a car and being laughed at for the lines- that was probably the last time. So just last week, sitting in the hotel, I decided to draw a car. No reference, no worry about measuring proportions, just draw a car. I figured I’d only spend a few minutes but I ended up spending almost two hours just dicking around. It was perhaps the most refreshing thing I’ve done in a while and I need to remember to do that from time to time. My goal isn’t to go pro, or win awards,  or become Internet famous- I want to enjoy what I’m doing.

And this is why although I didn’t hit my drawing goals, I am not too down on myself. Maybe I learnt something more important over the last month.

M

Leave a Reply

